Books are Like Snowflakes

Things have been hectic around here, and well to be very blunt…The Kingdom’s Revolt has been delayed.

It’s partially due to some issues with the actual publishing of the book and partially due to the fact that I tried to accomplish one too many things in a short period of time.

I’m going to go ahead and say 25% is publishing and 75% is my own fault for missing the deadline. I tried to juggle too many things and ended up dropping the ball.

The first book in the series was written and rewritten over a year or more span from conception to final product ready for publishing. All the King’s Men was done in a much shorter period of time and because of that I thought I could deliver the same on this book. For the lack of a better analogy, books are like snowflakes, no two are the same. All the Kings Men was a breeze to write. Before I wrote the opening lines I had a clear picture of the story and where it was going. This book had virtually no rewrites from the original first draft. That’s how sure I was of this story.

But trying to end a series and make sure it comes to a satisfying conclusion, at least for me, hasn’t been easy. From the get go, this one was more difficult because the story didn’t already play out neatly in my head. There were a lot of unaccounted for factors that have popped up through out the writing process. The only definite has been the ending. Since about midway through All the King’s Men, I’ve known exactly what would happen to Casper and Cal in the end. But how they got there hasn’t always been so clear.

So after that rambling explanation, I want to assure you that The Kingdom’s Revolt is on it’s way to being published and it’s looking to be slated for May 2014. I’m choosing to look at the bright side of this delay. One, I know for certain that the book I will be presenting will be worthy of finishing Casper and Cal’s story and two, it will come out just in time for summer reading!

Thank you for your patience and for all your support. It really brings joy to my heart to know how many have enjoyed The King’s series. It’s been one of the greatest experiences of my life!

3 thoughts on “Books are Like Snowflakes

Leave a Reply

