The End Game

I’ve been working on the third book in the Kings of Charleston series and I’ve been really playing around with the idea of when to stop the series.

When I began writing, I was dead set on a three book series. It’s a nice number and I felt like that would give me plenty of time to tie everything up, but as the story has progressed I’m no longer confident in the magical number “3”.

When the first book was published, I set my eyes on the sequel. I can remember thinking there was no way I could love the second book more than the first. I was totally wrong. In all honesty, the second book is now my favorite.

Before I began work on the third, I didn’t think in a million years that I could love the third as much as the second…haha (Good thing I don’t bet with myself). I’m now starting to really love where the story is going in the third book and there have been some twist and turns that I didn’t expect to happen.

I think why I’m loving each book more and more is because I’m getting to witness Casper evolve from a teenager into a young woman who stands up for what she believes in. Casper has turned into a real fighter and I’ve really come to like that about her.

In the first book she’s got a smidgen of a rebel spirit, but ultimately she goes along with Kythera (and even Cal) until the final act by Tyson which sends her over the edge and into total rebellion against Kythera.

So what’s the end game for this series?

Honestly, I don’t know. Once the third book has been written, the future will be a little clearer, but right now anything is possible.And even when Casper’s story is over…it doesn’t necessarily mean it’s really over.

I’ve played around with the idea of a new series that fast forwards into the future for Casper and Cal. I feel there’s some potential to take this Young Adult story and extend it into the Adult fiction category. I’ve also have been mulling over the idea of a prequel which gives you a peek into Tyson’s story when he was a teenager.

Who knows where the Casper’s story ends (I sure don’t), but I’m enjoying every minute of writing her story and seeing her grow as a character.

Leave a Reply

