New Projects Coming

As I’ve hinted on my Facebook page, I’m actually working on two separate novels at the same time. I am currently working on the 3rd book in the Kings of Charleston series, but I’m also working on another book.

I’ve always known that I would write this story, it was just a matter of when. I kept waiting for the right time, thinking I might approach the idea after I finished my current series. Alas, my brain had different ideas and I’m going with it.

I knew one day I would write my own personal love story, but I didn’t think it would be this soon. Anyone who’s heard the story of how my husband and I met, usually says it sounds like a Nicholas Sparks book, but I have no plans to turn over my story to Mr. Sparks. I plan on writing it myself.

The Romance genre is out of my comfort zone. What better way to get comfortable with it than my own story? I prefer suspense, thrills and mystery. Straight up romance terrifies me a little. What other romance could I possibly know better and be more qualified to write than my own?

Although this story will be based on a true story, it will still be a work of fiction. Names and places will be changed, so will some events. The essence of the story will be the same, with true events sprinkled in, but I’m a fiction writer and that’s where I am comfortable. Maybe one day I’ll get brave enough for non-fiction, but I’m not there yet.

So, I wanted to go ahead and put it out there that Kat H. Clayton, mystery/suspense writer, was also going to be writing a romance alá Nicholas Sparks. I never thought I’d say that, but it actually feels soo right.

Because the genre is radically different from what I normally write I will be setting up a separate website. You can find it here, where you can keep up to date on the progress of this new endeavor.

It doesn’t have a final title, but the working title? The Hurricane Effect (if you know me this will make total sense) 🙂

Leave a Reply

