The Kings…Erotic Romance? I don’t think so.

This past weekend I ran a promotion on Amazon for The Kings of Charleston in anticipation of the sequel’s release and it was a great success.

So many people took an interest in the series that the book made it onto a couple Amazon bestseller lists. But as I was looking over the listing for the novel I saw something a little strange. On Amazon, readers can add their own tags as to what describes the book by category. For example you can tag a book as “Romantic Suspense”, “Mystery” or “Teen”, but to my complete shock I saw several tags for The Kings which included “Erotic Romance”. Excuse me?

I have no idea where in the world anyone would get the idea that it’s an Erotic Romance a lá Fifty Shades of Grey.

One, if you read the description you can clearly tell it’s about a high school girl and sure she has a romance, but I wouldn’t say that it would make you blush as you read the pages (there is not even a single sex scene). Two, if you read the whole description you would know the romance isn’t necessarily the center of the plot. Three, it’s listed in the teen section and yes, I’m sure there are some teens who’ve read erotic romance, but I can’t think of one book specifically marketed toward teens in that genre.

So I’m stumped as to why anyone would suggest that The Kings should be tagged in the Erotic Romance category. Maybe because there is a pair of  legs in black stilettos on the cover? Sure, the cover is a little sexy, but I thought it lent more to the mystery of the whole thing with the tattoo and black car. My mind never went to erotic romance when looking at the cover.

I’m not into erotic romance (never read Fifty Shades of Grey and don’t intend to). Just not my thing. Honestly, I’m not much on all out romance novels. I like  romance, but not one that goes into too much detail (if you know what I mean). I grew up on mysteries where a “long kiss” would have been the most descriptive romance element in the book. So I’m a little squeamish when it comes to romance. It took me awhile to get the romantic scenes in The Kings right (yes, even if it was just some kissing). I can remember Marlene, my editor, telling me that my action scenes were wonderful, but my romance needed some work (no surprise there).

So, you can understand my surprise at the misguided tagging of my novel. Fortunately, I think I figured out how to remove the tag (whew). I kind of laughed afterward thinking there were going to be some seriously disappointed people who bought it and were expecting an erotic romance…lol.

2 thoughts on “The Kings…Erotic Romance? I don’t think so.

  1. I don’t see that being an appropriate tag either. Mysterious? Yes! Erotic? No.
    I haven’t read 50 Shades either and refuse to.
    When is your sequel coming out?

Leave a Reply

