All a Part of My Process…

I’ve recently discovered Spotify for listening to music thanks to Pink Julep, and it’s completely revolutionized the way I write and think through scenes. The only bad thing? It seems to want to broadcast what I’m listening to all my friends on Facebook.

So even though no one is probably paying attention or cares, I still feel like people  are probably scratching there heads and wondering why I’m listening to the same songs over and over again. There’s a reason.

Not only do I listen to music to write, I listen to very specific songs even to the point of timing a scene with a song (kind of like a movie). And even when I am not actually writing, I may still be listening to the same song over and over in an effort to work out a scene in my head.

I do not plot scenes, all my planning happens in my head and I keep it there until I am able to sit down in the late afternoons and write it all out. So the incessant streaming of the same songs over and over again until I’m sick of them has a purpose. It’s all a part of my writing process…

You can check out my book review and style profile done by Pink Julep which also features a playlist of some of the songs I listened to in order to write The Kings of Charleston.

 

Leave a Reply

