Borrowing Freedom

In riding a horse, we borrow freedom.
– Helen Thomson

The wind whipped through my loose hair as I guided Wendy over the narrow path near the farm’s border fence. The moonlight was bright, casting a shadow of us barreling through the dark green grass. The air was cold and my ears and nose were numb, but I didn’t care. My heart was racing and all I could feel was freedom. I buried my face into her long brown mane and pushed her as fast as she would go. Everything disappeared and all I could hear was the pounding of her hooves and my own fast beating heart.– The Kings of Charleston

Horses play a big part in The Kings of Charleston not only because they’re Casper’s obsession, but because of what they represent. They have a special connection with humans and they offer something pretty special flying across a field…freedom.

As the story progresses from Book 1 to Book 2 and finally Book 3, the horse element will only continue to grow in importance.

Leave a Reply

