Rose Gardens and Horse Names

I do not have a green thumb, but we recently went to a nursery (we needed a new blueberry bush, because my husband ran one of ours over with the lawn mower…lol) and they had the most beautiful roses.

I was drawn to them and I turned excitedly to my husband and asked “What about some roses?” Roses are easy to take care of right? My husband shook his head, “No, you don’t want roses. They can be difficult.”

Difficult? No thank you. I immediately went to look at plants under the sign that said “Drought Tolerant” (meaning they’ll survive when I forget to water them). But  later that day I kept thinking about the roses, and looked up all the different types of roses there are on the internet. I got some more bad news…most roses don’t like the Deep South (too hot). There are some types that do grow well here, but not the ones I really liked. Bummer.

After that disappointing news, I continued working on the sequel to The Kings of Charleston and as I hinted in an earlier post the newest character, Dev, loves horses too. In fact, his family owns some of there own horses and I started looking for horse name inspirations.

Casper Whitley’s horse names are all derived from characters from Casper the Friendly Ghost stories (i.e. Good Witch “Wendy”, “Hot Stuff” the Little Devil, Nightmare, The Ghostly “Trio”), so I thought Dev’s horses needed a theme too.

And then it hit me…rose names as horse names (there’s a reason Dev’s family would name their horses after roses, but I’m not sharing that :)). An example? Dev has a horse named Alister Stella Gray that he calls Stella.

So if I can’t have the roses that I want in my yard (or the gardener to take care of them), then I can have them in the form of the names of some pretty special horses.

Alister Stella Gray Roses. By A. Barra (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

