Sequel Secrets

I’m finally moving full force into sequel mode and working diligently on And All the Kings Men. It’s taken some time for me to figure out where the story was going. Actually, I still would be lost if I hadn’t I relented and let Casper pull me into her world.

Now that I have a clearer picture as to where the story is going, I’ve begun doing research on new elements of the story.

Sometimes research can be a whole lot of fun. This afternoon, my husband and I went to an Indian restaurant (I’ve never had Indian food) and I was amazed by all the different flavors and spices that were used. Indian food is completely different from anything else I’ve ever had and it’s definitely not one note. I enjoyed it, and my husband thinks we need to do more “research”.

I’ve also been working on a new playlist of songs to listen to while I’m writing, which is an important part of the process for me. I don’t like silence, especially when I’m writing (I can’t even write a post without music…currently I am listening to One Republic on Pandora). When I first start writing a story, I search for new songs that help me get the right mood for different scenes so that the scenes can play out like a movie in my head.

A little secret? The scene in The Kings of Charleston where Casper is alone in the house after the Fourth of July party (trying not to give away what happens to those  who haven’t read it) was written to “The End Is the Beginning Is the End” by the Smashing Pumpkins. And the scene in the barn with Casper and her Dad? “Shake it Out” by Florence + the Machine.

Since today’s all about research for the sequel, I thought I would reveal a couple of tidbits about what’s to come:

There’s a new character in town named Dev and he’s going to cause a lot of problems for Casper in more ways than one. He’s handsome, has nothing to do with Kythera and he loves horses as much as Casper does (which makes him pretty irresistible).

Does this spell trouble for Cal? Not so fast…like everyone else Casper meets, Dev has some secrets of his own.

The secrets in Charleston are getting deeper and more difficult to keep.

2 thoughts on “Sequel Secrets

Leave a Reply

