Rainbows and Black Dotted Golf Balls

This weekend wasn’t quite as exciting as last weekend since there were no crazy kayaking and paddle boat experiences, but doesn’t mean it wasn’t fun. We went to visit my husband’s parents in his hometown, which is something we do quite often. I always enjoy it because I really like hanging out with his family and his hometown  always brings great memories to mind. It played a big role in how we met in the first place (one day I’ll write that story). For that reason it holds a special place in my heart.

The drive up there is always pleasant and this weekend it was especially nice. The weather had been rainy all week and it was still raining some Friday when we left, but halfway there we had to stop and take a picture of one of the best rainbows I’ve ever seen. It was full and you could see it from end to end. I don’t know if you can tell in the photo, but if you look really hard there’s a larger rainbow above the brighter one.

Besides spending time with his family, we’ve decided to pick up playing golf on Saturdays. I played on the golf team in high school, but I was never that good. I understood the game and I knew how I should hit, but the little white ball rarely went where I wanted it to go (I knew right then I wasn’t going to be the next Tiger Woods).

I haven’t picked up a golf club in ten years until yesterday and today my right arm and lower back are pretty stiff after hitting a bucket of balls at the driving range. And for the first time I really enjoyed it (maybe because I actually hit every single ball, except two, on the first swing). I helped my husband with his swing and he’s pretty good even if he doesn’t think so. His cousin, Michael also came out and hit with us and it was just fun hanging out except for the gnats.

When I first met my husband, he asked me if we had gnats in Kentucky. I said “Of course we do.” Then I came to South Georgia. I was dead wrong. Kentucky doesn’t have gnats…or what I like to call the annoying swarm of bugs that make you wish you had a tail like a horse. They swarm around your eyes, buzz in your ears and try to go up your nose. How the heck do people play golf down here?

I’ve gotten used to them hanging around when I’m outside, but not while I’m trying to concentrate on something like golf. I get ready to hit and it looks like I’m seeing black dots all over the golf ball! Actually I’m not see things and the crazy bugs are  really are on the golf ball! Bug spray works some, but apparently dryer sheets are the way to go. Next time I’ll stuff some in my arm pits or maybe I could get my hands on one of those hazard suits you always see in the movies…lol.

Either way, gnats are not fun and I think they may be worse than mosquitoes, which love me. Sometimes I miss Kentucky for no other reason than it’s gnat (and fire ant) free. But South Georgia has some great points too. I love the big oaks dripping with Spanish Moss and the Cypress trees dotting the waters. There’s just something so mysterious and beautiful about them (even if they’re probably surrounded by gnats) 🙂

Leave a Reply

