Bright Blue Kayak

I’m in love with kayaking.  My husband’s Aunt Cheryl brought one to the lake and I got to try it out. The first day the water was smooth and glassy and it was very easy to glide across the water. The second day it was very windy and the water was choppy, but I went out anyway. His Aunt Cheryl had went out earlier and she said the going was pretty tough, but it was a breeze getting back since you would be going with the wind.

I set a goal to make it to a small replica lighthouse on the dock of the house on the edge of the cove. I felt like I was fighting against a hurricane (okay that’s an exaggeration, but it was definitely difficult). I had to stop several times along the way and take a second to breathe. As I looked around there were no other boats out on the water except a yellow sail boat. There were people on the shore looking at me like I was crazy, but it was so much fun. I love anything to do with water and it was nice being out there by myself even if I was exhausted. I had to paddle hard to keep the wind from pushing me back, and I used all the energy I had because I refused to not make my goal to the lighthouse.

I kept going and I was about to make it to the lighthouse when I stopped for a second, and something caught my eye on the ride side of the kayak. I looked over and there were bubbles coming up from the lake. I didn’t think anything about it until I saw a face of some animal staring back at me. Without thinking I turned around and headed back, paddling as fast as I could. I was afraid it was a snake. I knew it wasn’t an alligator because of the colors (although I do live in South Georgia and its completely possible), but whatever it was I wanted to get away from it as fast as I could. I’ve seen too many movies about monsters of the deep and I didn’t want an up close look, especially not out there by myself.

It felt like it was taking me forever to get back and like I was paddling much harder to get back, and all I could think about was something lurking behind me, laughing at the fact that I wasn’t moving very fast. And to make it all worse, the boat kept trying to go out to the open water of the lake. When I finally made it back, all I could do was laugh.

I’ve learned that crazy things are always going to happen at the lake and that there will always be stories to tell and one of the reasons it’s a magical place.

Leave a Reply

