A Challenge Well Worth It

Writing a book has been and continues to be a challenge, but it’s a challenge that’s been well worth it. Now that I’ve sent the project on to my editor, I feel like I can take a deep breath and relax…at least for a day. Now my worries focus more on marketing and the business aspects of producing a book, which in a way is a lot scarier than writing or even editing.

I never thought I would be an author, although it should’ve crossed my mind at some point since I was constantly reading as a kid and wrote short stories for fun. I went to college and tried out five hundred majors before finally settling on Political Science, and although that didn’t scream writer it was a whole lot of writing, which I loved.

After graduating from college, it still never occurred to me to write a book, even though a story I had written in high school was literally haunting me.

As much as I don’t want to admit it, I have to give credit where it’s due. Someone convinced me to read Twilight, and I read all four books in a week. I loved them, and for some reason it sparked the need in me to write (please note, I do not write about vampires). I sat down and wrote a paranormal romance called Tilted Halo, but had to shelve it because the story from high school was begging to be written. So I sat aside that project and began working on what would become my first novel, The Kings of Charleston.

The Kings of Charleston will be available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and iBookstore in June, 2012.

Leave a Reply

